to finish or not to finish, that is the question.

I have five chapters, two of which need major revision.  I have no money to pay for the quarter I need to file the damned thing, and frankly, I’ve run out of enthusiasm for my project.  I’d rather just teach, be crafty, and finally have time to just be.

On the other hand, I’ve come this far, right?  So what to do, people?  Yikes.

Published in: on November 30, 2010 at 9:58 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missoularedhead.wordpress.com/2010/11/30/to-finish-or-not-to-finish-that-is-the-question/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Finish it. This is the 4:00 am moment, the dark before the dawn. The “I’ve changed my mind I don’t want this baby” at 4cm dilation. The

    Or if you need convincing, look at yourself from the perspective of five or ten or 15 years on and ask yourself how hard you’d be kicking yourself if you bottled out now?

    Good luck.

    Ben

  2. Finish for fucks sake. You’ve given up this much of your life to this. There is also how an unfinished PhD looks to future employers. I was told that when interviewing prospective hospital doctors people preferred no PhD to an unfinished one.Because an unfinished one made you look like someone who abandoned projects half way through.

  3. To finish!!!! I hear you–i’m so burnt out that I could really care less about the results of my dissertation, but I would be so much more upset with myself if I spent over 8 years in grad school, wrote a dissertation and didn’t finish the revisions. Hang in there Melissa…and know you’ve got commiseration!!


Leave a Reply

